Letting it Go

It’s 6 AM here in Berlin and I’m packing my suitcase to head back to Chicago and eventually Auburn for the holidays.

Last Friday I let the revised draft of the first chapter go: sent out into the ether with a few clicks (oh how I love Dropbox). Do I feel good about how it reads? Not really. But, I’m glad it’s out there hovering for the moment. One thing I’m learning about this dissertation process is that it’s good to let things go sometimes simply for the purpose of moving on. Or, as my dad would say, “sometimes you have to turn Granny’s portrait to the wall.”

It’s been a Christmassy few days here and I did make it to my obligatory Weihnachtsmarkt on Saturday night. I went to two, actually. I also truly enjoyed Gluhwein for maybe the first time. Mulled wine isn’t my favorite drink in the world, but it was such a bitterly raw night that I can see why it became popular.

For those of you in Berlin- next time you go to the Neuköllner Weihnachtsmarkt in Rixdorf, get your food and drink in front of the butcher on Karl-Marx-Platz located outside the actual market. It’s cheaper than the stuff inside, and better! Then you can enter the throng buzzed from the first Gluhwein and refill as necessary.

Finally, today I have a suggestion rather than a recipe: invest in a decent piece of cheese every once in a while. Living off of grant budgets calls for thrift, and I’ve mostly eliminated such treats from my diet. I was reminded last weekend though how much a couple of extra Euros can go around here. Worth every cent.

 

5 comments
  1. Glad to see you soon, cuz! I think a nice cheese would be a good addition to this year’s festivities at summit place….

    • sabaladas said:

      Yes- cheese or perhaps we can revisit the flaming fruitcake or the noël log? Also, _Tender_ was the best purchase I’ve made in a long time. So many brilliant recipes and so simple- highly recommended.

  2. also, funny, I was thinking that Slater’s Tender would be a good cookbook for you for Christmas, and then looked up at the books I like section…guess my impulse that you would like that was right!

  3. j said:

    hi sabasalads,

    Thanks for the snack suggestion this week. I decided to spend a pretty penny on a cheese-treat just yesterday and am very happy I did. Also, I was wondering what that festive log-like tower next to the cheese is?

    • sabaladas said:

      Dear J- The log-like cylinder looming in the picture above is a dense brown bread. I have to admit that I don’t recall its name, or the types of grain used. It has a slightly sour taste and is delicious with butter or soft salty cheeses.

Leave a Reply

